the business of partnering and serving

A friend asked me some questions about my marriage. Partnering and serving came to mind. Prayerfully striving to be a partner and servant to each other are our goals. And doing so in tangible ways. Ways that often times are not glamorous. Ways that look like this morning.

He told me to take the day off. Come home to nurse Asa but then just go.

So I stood in the bedroom getting ready to just go. The kids were at the table. A certain daughter became unhinged when she was told there were no more frozen blueberries for her oatmeal.

“But!…But!…(sob)…My oatmeal won’t turn purple now!! (sob sob)”

He breaks out the freakishly colored food colorings. Boom. Girl had her purple oatmeal, one boy had blue oatmeal that tinted his teeth, and the other chose green which turned his gloopy oatmeal an awful color that reminded me of things we don’t need to talk about.

He says he’ll take the kids to Costco. They’ll love him for it, even on a Monday morning when the samples are sure to be scarce. They’ll talk him into pizza. And he’ll love caving to them.

One boy coughs and hacks and we use up the last of the expired medicines. So he says he’ll take him to the doctor for a quick checkup. With the others.

“Now he’s just showing off,” I think to myself.

But I laugh knowing this is not true.

This is the man who took all four kids to Costco when Asa was just a two week old. I woke up from a nap and everyone had gone off sampling.

I’ve never taken all four to the doctor’s office by myself. I think I’ll continue to try and keep up my streak. He’s more adventurous than me.

I know that what serving and partnering look like will change through the course of our years. But for now, food coloring the oatmeal, doctor visits and the like are where serving and partnering take us. And I love him for it.

Leave a Reply

