the one where i fail at the Whole30 program…

…and eat some marshmallows while I tell you about it.

I was wooed by the Whole30 program. I had been noticing that our typically chip-free, snack food-free, dessert-free (I have excellent willpower against not-so-good-for-you foods in the store. If they make it into the house? All bets are off.) kitchen was becoming the comfortable home to lots of stuff that I don’t typically like to eat all the time. In similar and saner times of my life, I usually just tossed it or had everyone eat it all up before we started fresh. But this time I went a little crazy and got Omar to go along with me on a 30 day diet reset.

10 days into our dairy-free, grain-free, bean-free, legume-free, sugar-free, alcohol-free adventure, I realized that I was thankful for the nutritional reset but completely unthankful for the constant 9 day headache. If I had some underlying health concerns that I thought this could help, I would’ve gladly stuck it out. I know several people who have loved what this program has done for their health, and I am incredibly happy for them. My kids were incredibly happy once their happy mama was returned to them. And believe it or not, one muffin did the trick. Headache gone, happy mother present.

2 thoughts on “the one where i fail at the Whole30 program…

  1. We tried for about 5 days while my sister was living with us. We were all doing it “for her” because she did have some underlying health problems, but it was impossible to keep the kids on it, and I’m not convinced it would have been good to keep growing children on it anyway, although I’m sure many would disagree. I have no doubt it works for some people, but we, too, were happy to have our yogurt (plain! raw milk! we’re not talking toxic!) and bread back. I have enjoyed the cookbook, “Well Fed” which is a Whole30 endorsed set of recipes. I love almost everything in that e-book!

  2. I just quit 3 weeks in. I had no underlying health problem to address. But I was lured in with promises of more energy. I didn’t feel any different when I started. Nothing. Then the last week and a half before I quit, I constantly felt like a crazy, starving person. And was incredibly fatigued. Ain’t nobody got time for that. I ordered pizza. I feel much better. I have mostly eaten Real Food for years. So it’s not like I seriously needed a reset when it comes to food education. 🙂 Glad to find your post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

