top five :: photography

What I use and what works for me in the world of everyday photography. Are there better/newer cameras or lenses or apps out there? Of course, but the research junkie that is me knows that at some point I just need to pick something and learn about it and use it…and not be wooed by the Next Big Thing (like this camera that I have spent way too much time reading and learning about. And saving for.).

1 :: 35mm f/1.8 DX. I bought this lens about three years ago, and I think it’s been on my camera since then. After getting comfortable with the kit lenses, I wanted an all purpose prime lens with a wider angle. And I didn’t have much of a budget for it. I loved it when I put it on my camera, and I love it now in all its banged up, dusty glory. It shoots a bit dark, but it didn’t take long to learn how to compensate for it on my camera.

2 :: Camera+. The number of available camera apps is overwhelming, but this one is still one of the best I’ve used. The main reason is that you can set the exposure separate from the focus point. Brilliant. And there is a grid, so I take about 20 fewer shots when I’m trying to line up a photo.

3 :: VSCO Cam. This app has my favorite filters, especially for brightly lit or slightly overexposed photos. Lots of fun.

4 :: Instagram. Nothing surprising here. It’s a fun app and has been a great way to keep up with friends without sucking away time.

5 :: Shutterfly photo books. I am still trying to find the best place to order prints that won’t break the bank. And while I still prefer the classic photo album with separate prints, I’ve realized the beauty of quickly and easily made photo books. I am always able to find great coupons, and it seems that for every book I order, I end up getting a coupon to order the next one for free. I know the quality of other companies is often much better, but I’ve loved that I can afford having photo books out for family and friends to browse through. I recently printed out a book for all my Instagrams in 2012. It’s a fun book, and those pictures would’ve just languished in Instagram-land had I not decided to print them in a book.

6 thoughts on “top five :: photography

  1. ohh, that lens sounds great. love vscocam! i’ll have to give camera+ another try since you mention it here. have you tried printstagram? i ordered mini prints from them once and really liked them. it took a long time to arrive (apparently they print them in taiwan), but i would do it again. i’ve also got my eye on the photobooks by artifact uprising…

    • Wow, those Artifact Uprising books are beautiful. My coupons and deals have been getting my photo books done for as cheap as $7 to $10, but I’d gladly upgrade to Artifact Uprising for a special occasion. I love their site. Thanks for the tip. I haven’t tried printstagram, but that’s a great idea. I have a few old KOLO books that I could use for them.

  2. Glad to hear you like camera +. I was just looking at that on the app store, and wondering if it was good….should probably splurge and spend the 99 cents. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

