fancy cookbooks, fancy blenders, and fancy nuts

Here is a TED Talk by Nathan Myhrvold where he shows a bunch of cutaway pictures from his cookbook that explains the physics and chemistry of cooking.  The cutaway pictures are impressive, and the video of a kernel of corn popping is beautiful.  Save your pennies, though, because the multi-volume cookbook set is a mere $625.

But if I had a spare $625 sitting around, I’d be more tempted to drop it on a Vitamix.  Or a Blendtec.  Don’t we all need something that can make a smoothie out of an iPad?  I think a Vitamix should be included in all CSA subscriptions.  My CSA induced food anxiety would be greatly lessened if I knew I could just whiz up all the excess zucchini and greens and serve them as soups or smoothies. I would be saving money (wink).

In the name of research I dropped some grocery money on some fancy bags of nuts this week.  While we were on vacation a few weeks ago I grabbed a bag of Sahale Snacks Valdosta Pecans (pecans topped with black pepper, cranberries, and orange zest).  I can eat a bag in one sitting.  Yesterday I also bought the Sing Buri blend (cashews with pineapple, peanuts, lemongrass and Chinese chili).  I just know I can make these.  I only have 7 more varieties to “work” through.

2 thoughts on “fancy cookbooks, fancy blenders, and fancy nuts

  1. Hey, could a Vitamix do anything with the orange blossom vodka, jasmine blossoms, celery root threads and hyssop leaves I was telling you about? Might be worth a try. 🙂

    • I hadn’t even thought about that. One more point for the Vitamix. And I am totally intrigued with hyssop leaves. It makes it sound like a biblical drink…

Leave a Reply

