grateful

this week i received my second blurb book of year two of my blog.  i sat down and flipped through the book and realized how thankful i am for this whole world of blogs.  i am thankful that i started one because i’ve turned out to be somewhat of a failure as a traditional journaler.  but holding the blog books in my hands has made me ok with that.

for me blogs have been a treasure trove of encouragement and challenges and knowledge.  reading thoughtful words of wisdom from mothers sharing their successes and failures has made me a gentler, more loving, and hopefully better mother.  people sharing their knowledge about how animals are (or should be) treated and how food is (or should/can be) grown has made me more conscious of how and where i buy my food.  seeing people create beautiful and often practical things with their hands encouraged me to dive into the world of sewing and knitting and crocheting and photography and more.  i know quite little about all of those things but i love the connections they have brought about in friendships and the ways these activities have pushed my brain. my blog and the internet as a whole have not isolated me from “real” friendships but brought about true friendships with those i have met through the blog world and strengthened friendships with people in my local community.

do blogs have downsides?  of course they do.  blogs can bring out envy and jealousy and covetousness and judgmentalism.  i’ve experienced all of those things.  i’ve also experienced all those things in “real life.”  and they prove to be their own perfect opportunities (regardless of how trivial or silly) to realize my own sin and dependence on Christ for my worth and value.  and if a particular blog continues to bring up such thoughts, then i stop reading it.

i know people who struggle with the world of blogs because they are only a snapshot of life and not a full picture of reality.  but that is the nature of the medium.  for some, i think blogs can be a wonderful place to respectfully and cautiously confess certain struggles and disappointments. however i do not believe that it is necessary to do that to maintain authenticity.  because i choose not to discuss particular relationship struggles with friends or family does not mean i don’t have them.  sharing mostly the positive and sweet stories about my kids does not mean we don’t ever have dreadful days or that i’m trying to portray that we don’t.

if blogs were to disappear tomorrow life would go on and i would be fine.  but i would miss the ready access to new ideas and encouragement in regards to everything from book suggestions, schooling options, gardening, ministry, photography, cooking, and mothering to name just a few.  and more importantly i would miss the possibility of forming new friendships like the ones i’ve already made through this wonderful and imperfect world of blogs.

8 thoughts on “grateful

  1. This is one of the most beautiful Behind the Gate posts EVER. I love it. You’ve captured the goodness of the blogosphere so perfectly. I’m going to link to this post if you don’t mind, Kate!

    Have a great rest of the weekend.

  2. Thanks for this perspective. Your blog has definitely encouraged me in my mothering, thank you! I agree that it’s the “nature of the medium” that blogs are only a snapshot of real life – some things would not be appropriate (just speaking for myself) to post on my blog for sure. But I think of it as art and expression of creativity, and just like with visual art, you don’t know everything about the artist, you just know what they put forth. It’s good to think about these things, and is a great challenge to think about why we blog, why we read other blogs, and keep our hearts focused in the right place.

    • great comparison with visual art, christine. exactly, you only know what the artist puts forth. and that doesn’t mean the artist is necessarily trying to hide something. thank you for the kind comment.

Leave a Reply

