i welcome you

termites who like to swarm to the lights at night, gnaw away at our home, and evict us for the dreaded termite tenting, i welcome you.  i like to think of it as a forced medicine cabinet, freezer, refrigerator, cabinets, and pantry spring cleaning.

rats who like to find sneaky ways into our walls that thwart even the exterminators, i welcome you.  getting ticked does nothing, i’ve come to learn.  but i do hate (hate) the wretched smell that accompanies your demise in our walls (we must have very welcoming walls as this is the second death in three months).

flies that emerge as a result of rats (yuck), come on in.

roaches (i hate even writing that word), you’re determined to be here and at least i can now spy you without cussing.

7 thoughts on “i welcome you

  1. I agree 100%, I think God brings us to the point where we need to focus on the eternal and not be distracted by worldly things…including bugs, rats and termites. I was just thinking tonight that the only things that are eternal in my home are God, my husband and kids, how I long to focus my attention on eternal things. I don’t want to allow worldly things to throw me into a tail spin. I once heard the quote, “Whatever you focus on expands”, it is so true!
    If you want I can come over and help you spring clean, I’ll bring my fly swatter 🙂

  2. thinking I would be all kinds of falling apart with the termite tent situation…so I will say some prayers for you, Omar, and your sweet kiddos. 🙂
    hugs from us.

  3. I am not a fan of any of the vermin/insects listed, but I could handle all of them but the rats. There are no words to describe my intense hatred/fear of rats! Kudos to you for not running from the house screaming bloody murder or death to rats or something along those lines, because that is exactly what I would be doing!

Leave a Reply

