this week

i’m trying to pull out of my 365 photo project rut that has resulted in me forgetting about my camera until well into the dark of night.  at least i snapped the above shot during sunset and not after.

i only have until saturday to make it to photographer Ralph Gibson’s exhibition “Overtones: Diptychs and Proportions.”  i love a good diptych.

the boys found a bunch of seeds in the yard that they thought were pistachios.  they gathered and gathered and left our neighbors little piles of pistachio peace offerings on their front steps.  and then they went off to slay dragons (ants) with sticks.

the boys also managed to hook the ends of a bungee cord into their pants and then run around the house playing a sort of chase-meets-body tug-of-war game which resulted in me calling out loudly (much to the amusement of my parents), “we don’t put bungee cords in our pants!!”

lenna has the hand motions down to a little spanish nursery song.  so. cute.

as i pulled into The Home Depot parking lot, elisha called out, “where are you going to park, my love?”

my reading dry spell came to an end.  i just realized i hadn’t read much since finishing Wuthering Heights a couple of weeks ago (maybe we can talk sometime about how i loathe that book because whoah, it’s pretty loathsome).  i listened to dr. randy christensen give an interview about his mobile medical unit for homeless kids in phoenix and quickly found and read his book Ask Me Why I Hurt: The Kids Nobody Wants and the Doctor Who Heals Them.  it was a heartbreaking read, yet it was also just one more thing that is softening and (hopefully) preparing my heart and mind as we begin to enter the whole world of fostering/adopting.

4 thoughts on “this week

  1. Things have been crazy around here and maybe I forgot or didn’t know that you’re considering fostering or adopting. Be sure to contact me if you have any questions about it all before you begin!

  2. I love it when the boys repeat things they’ve heard their dad say. So sweet. My best book finds have been by your recommendation- I’ll have to look for that one.

  3. Beautiful picture! I remember days when I almost forgot to take a picutre when I did a 365 last year. Some days were easier than others. You’ll love having done it at the end, though!

    1. aahh! i was just getting ready to respond and tell you that i was proud that i’ve only missed one day so far…and then i remembered i forgot to take one yesterday. drat.

Leave a Reply

