birthday dinner

during my birthday breakfast, omar handed me my birthday cookbook gift, Michael’s Genuine Food: Down-to-Earth Cooking for People Who Love to Eat (from one of our favorite miami restaurants) and instructed me to mark all the recipes i wanted him to make for my birthday dinner.

last night was the event and with the help of my mom, omar knocked out 6 recipes.  during dinner i noticed there was a definite leaning towards the brown, creamy, and fried side of the food spectrum and if there hadn’t been 3 heads of cauliflower languishing in the fridge, i bet the roasted cauliflower in parsley sauce would’ve been skipped for something else brown, creamy, or fried, but thankfully it added the touch of green i needed so i didn’t feel too guilty.  whatever, we’ll save “balanced meals” for the other days of the year.

first up – caramelized onion dip.  we thought about following his instructions for frying our own chips but we had other things to fry…

…like crispy polenta fries with spicy ketchup.  (my dad wondered if the leftover polenta fries would be good toasted up the next morning and served with maple syrup.  i don’t see why not.)

and to wash it down we had passion fruit soda made with passion fruit pulp, lime juice, orange juice, agave, and ginger ale.

the main course was braised chicken with apricots, green olives, and herbed couscous.  it looks like quite the humble chicken dish but the flavors were delicious.  it was wonderful and even little lenna ate her fair share.

add to that the roasted cauliflower with parsley sauce.

to end the meal i made toasted almond panna cotta.  my go-to panna cotta uses sour cream but this one used buttermilk.  we liked the tang.

who knew 31 would be so celebratory.  and thanks to a sweet husband and mom who cooked for me.

5 thoughts on “birthday dinner

  1. AWW! Happy Birthday! I wish I was there to take you to Michael’s for lunch, but the cookbook is a nice stand-in. May need to get my hands on a copy of that.

  2. Happy Birthday Kate! The pictures are making my newly vegan stomach a bit jealous. I still think back on the lovely dinner we had there–for your birthday too. I say we go again!

  3. Great pictures, birthday girl!! It was a great meal too. So now we can have Michael’s in Miami or in your dining room . . . that may be dangerous.

Leave a Reply

