books upon books

if someone were to ask me what i like to read at this stage in my life, i’d probably answer, “the first 30 pages of anything.”  i’ve renewed my library addiction, and at this moment have more books out than i know what to do with and a stack of cookbooks to return because everything i want to make in them have the words “cake” or “cookie” or “crumble” in the title.  no good.

i thought all my time nursing would help me actually finish books but i’ve got the world’s fastest nurser and two boys who up the shenanigan level during that time.  so reading is kind of put aside until nap time and bedtime where i promptly fall asleep after 5 minutes.  so each night i start a new book thinking it will keep me up longer.  i now know it is no fault of the book…on the whole.

the current books:

Understanding Close-Up Photography by bryan peterson.  his other book, Understanding Exposure, is great and this one just adds to the greatness.

Dominion:  The Power of Man, the Suffering of Animals, and the Call of Mercy by matthew scully.  it’s an exploration of the welfare and treatment of animals.  what does it exactly mean to have dominion over all the creatures of the earth?  so far so good in a heart-wrenching, habit-changing kind of way.

Handbook on Thriving as an Adoptive Family edited by David and Renee Sanford.  i’m starting to notice how i always seem to have an adoption book going.  this one is targeted towards families who already adopted, but it’s been good for me to read and explore issues that might come our way when we (hopefully) adopt.  i’ve appreciated how the authors write in such a way that make it clear there will most likely be some kind of “issue” (be it attachment, discipline, future identity issues) with an adopted child but that it doesn’t make that child any less a part of your family.  their constant encouragement to seek counsel and help from professionals and friends when times are rough are good for any parent to hear.

What Einstein Told His Cook: Kitchen Science Explained by robert wolke.  since i can’t eat a cake, i decided to read up on why i need to add baking powder and baking soda to certain ones and not others.  this book answers questions about everything from the best way to thaw frozen food to what exactly dutch process cocoa is to whether or not oysters on the half shell are actually still alive when you eat them.  and wolke’s funny.  christopher kimball (of cook’s illustrated fame) says of wolke: it is “as if albert einstein’s mother had married rodney dangerfield’s father.”

The Selected Journals of L.M. Montgomery Volume I: 1889-1910 edited by mary rubio and elizabeth waterston.  for the life of me i can’t remember where i heard about this but i’m kind of surprised i’m reading it.  to my own dismay i’m not much of a biography/journal reader but montgomery’s books meant a lot to me growing up and it’s been interesting reading about her life and where anne and her other characters came from.

the book in waiting:

The Quotidian Mysteries:  Laundry, Liturgy and “Women’s Work” by kathleen norris.  this has been on my list for quite awhile, and i was even more excited to read it when i saw it was pocket-sized and a mere 87 pages…something i can probably finish in a reasonable amount of time!

4 thoughts on “books upon books

  1. I suggest you drop everything and read Norris’s book. It’s a good one. I think I’m going to take Understanding Exposure with me on our forthcoming vacation. Hopefully reading it and all the lake-gazing will light my photographic fire. It’s been a bit dull these days.

  2. A great list, Kate! I always love how varied your lists are…a little something for your mind, heart, palate, etc.

    I’m super excited about the Peterson book (no surprise, I’m sure) and the adoption book. I’m feeling the need to start talking/thinking about adoption issues now even though it’s probably a good 5 years down the road.

  3. Hiya, can I add a couple more to the line-up? “The Core” by Leigh Bortins. Great guidance in educating our children. I sure wish I had had this book on hand when I was just starting out. The other is one that had been waiting on my nightstand and Beka finally got to first. The title is “The Supper of the Lamb- A Culinary Reflection” by Robert Farrar Capon. I always have a stack of books on by bedside table. Waiting…
    We’re looking forward to a Skype visit soon! Oooxxx

Leave a Reply

