items of interest


jamie oliver :: abbie and i seem to be thinking on the same wavelength – we’re both quite excited about jamie oliver’s new show jamie oliver’s food revolution.  i first heard about the show during oliver’s TED prize talk (he won the 2010 TED prize).  his TED talk is great and sad (he really drives home the numbers of people who will die because of their diet).  oliver’s TED prize wish:

I wish for your help to create a strong, sustainable movement to educate every child about food, inspire families to cook again and empower people everywhere to fight obesity.

language like that of “sustainable movement” has gotten a bit old to me, especially if such proposed movements are only touted as being able to be sustained through government money, but i was impressed with how simple oliver’s goal really is and how ridiculous it is to think that you couldn’t create a sustainable movement of food education – his point is that we have to.  from his talk and from what i’ve heard about the show, he places a huge focus on the food in the home and in schools.  and one has got to assume that his attack on food in schools would not have had to happen had the culture of  real, healthy, and communal food in the home not been lost.

watch the TED talk – a very interesting 20 minutes.  oliver is entertaining to watch (he can rock a semi-mullet hairstyle and he always seems to be on the verge of breaking into a rap) and don’t think the irony was lost on me as i watched this talk while downing more nutella (euro junk food) than i care to admit (but it was slathered on whole wheat bread).

PEW research center quiz :: here is a quiz for you to see how much you have in common with the millenial generation.  out of a possible score of 100 with the millenials averaging a 70, i scored a 19!!  according to their charts that means i have more in common with the “silent generation” than genXers or millenials. ha!  i think i lowered my score by not texting and being without a tattoo and secured my position next to my grandparents by continuing to have a landline and contacting a member of congress over the past year.  what’s your score?

11 thoughts on “items of interest

  1. Bummer…I scored a 29. I think that’s because my parents were divorced, and I only have a cell phone. I thought I was super old-fashioned! :/

    Look forward to watching the TED talk, although I still have the last one you recommended on my “to do” list because I wanted to watch it with a pen and paper so I could comment on your friend’s blog. Got me all agitated thinking about white bread being better for the world, and I wanted to have a well-thought-out response before I flew off the handle. 😉 Thanks for broadening my little world!

  2. scored a 3. might’ve been lower but i considered the random holes in my body as piercings, even though they are no longer bejeweled. 🙂

  3. I started to watch this a few weeks ago but had to stop it because I didn’t have time at the moment. It’s been bouncing around in my head that I need to watch it…thanks for the reminder and encouragement!

  4. Ok, quick side note…I just played the sneak preview to Jamie’s show and Karis was standing here watching it with me. He holds up a cluster of tomatoes for school kids to see if they can identify them. Karis immediately pipes up, “Tomatoes!” Just as I’m feeling a surge of pride, she then says, “Oh, strawberries!” Ha! That will show my pride. 🙂

  5. I took your silly quiz, sweet daughter, and scored a 7; didn’t even place in the Boomer group (born in ’48). So I retook the quiz and pretended I had a piercing and tatoo, and I raised my score to 18!! Maybe….

  6. 28. Having divorced parents and a Facebook profile tickled things up a bit when thrown in with my conservative views and placement of religeon as having high importance. It makes one think, though, “How can we relate to those we barely have anything in common with?” Fortunately, the quiz only mentions the extreme trends of different times. We can start conversations with all kinds of people about a great cup of coffee or a fantastic smoothie…

    (As you can tell, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about becoming all things to all people and being able to witness to different types of folks. This quiz was very interesting and gave me more to think about, but I don’t know if that’s good or bad. 😉 )

    Have a great week!

  7. scored a 33. probably bc of my tattoos, fb profile and texting. but on the food thing….i need to get w/ the program. you are so good about cooking and finding recipes, etc. i am into raw (and organic) food, possibly about to start my own garden in a section gifted by a friend (we’ll see about her follow through). i would just eat most things off the vine, but figuring out how to get my kids to eat it is a whole ‘nother thing.
    love catching up on your blog every now and then 🙂 your belly is beautiful (of course) and your girlie pink collection is precious. glad for you!

  8. meredith – hey there! i saw you disappeared off facebook and was wondering how you were doing. how great that you get to start a garden and i’m with you on trying to get the kiddos to eat the veggies. i’ll send you an email soon.

Leave a Reply

