my christmas tree reminds me it is almost christmas

i think i almost wrote “july” on the rent check.  85 degrees.  really?  i might just take a tip from ellie, who is also experiencing a tropical christmas (unfortunately without the aid of central air), and remove all the holiday songs from our playlists that include anything to do with fires, snow, or roasted chestnuts…that last one mainly because i find them unpalatable.  oh well.  bring on the crocheted snowflakes, turn the air down, and simmer some cider.  but don’t stand too close to the stove because the gas flame will then cancel out any a/c breeze and lead you to give up on the cider and down a bit too much coquito.

2 thoughts on “my christmas tree reminds me it is almost christmas

  1. Too funny, Kate! I am right with you on this post! What is with this weather?!! I try day after day to enjoy a nice cup of tea but find myself waiting until it’s basically ice tea before drinking — it’s just too hot! The calendar says December, but are you sure?!! : )

  2. I was just thinking about that when “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas” came on the radio the other day. I really am dreaming of one, and I miss those cold, blustery, snowy Decembers. Everyone I know up north is envious of our warm weather. I guess the grass is always greener.

Leave a Reply

