ridiculous food talk

goats::
asher likes to stand in front of the open refrigerator and look at all the bottles, cartons, and packages.  he begs me to pull out the milk carton to look at the cow pictures.  last week i bought a little package of goat cheese with a picture of a goat on the front and asher held it up, asking me over and over, “what does he say?”  i usually answer such a question with the appropriate animal sound, but for some reason i actually thought he was talking about what words come out of the goat’s mouth. after a couple minutes of hearing the question over and over, i finally said, “i don’t know, asher, probably ‘e-e-e-at  m-m-m-my ch-e-e-e-se,'” done in my best possible goat voice.  the boys laughed hysterically and now walk around saying “eat my cheese” in their best possible goat voices.  this video sort of captures it.  if it’s a garbled mess to you, just know that the grandparents are probably loving it.

chickens::
omar and i think this has got to be possibly the strangest, most hilarious, and just plain most awkward roasting apparatus on the market:  the detachable suspension arm chicken roaster.

 

photo from williams-sonoma

photo from williams-sonoma

iguanas::
these things keep plaguing us, our yard, our pool, and our pool deck.  i think i even saw a baby iguana yesterday so their numbers are apparently increasing. i’ve heard that some people enjoy eating iguanas so perhaps there will be an iguana-roast in our near future.  i like to think i’ll try anything.

4 thoughts on “ridiculous food talk

  1. Call me crazy, but Tim and I saw the strange roasting pan at Williams Sonoma the other day and kind of wanted it….except that it was expensive, we didn’t need it, and I was worried about storage awkwardness. But crispy skin all around sounds good to me!

  2. That chicken roaster is hilarious! I can only imagine what Alton Brown would say it about it. But I will say I understand the sentiment behind it…I recently roasted a chicken on a rack in a roasting pan and put vegetables underneath the chicken rack to absorb all that chicken goodness. Oh my. Definitely the best roasted chicken and veggie dinner I’ve had to date.

  3. Kate, I’ve missed your blog! I’ve been so busy I haven’t been able to stop by for a visit in a while. So now I’m about to catch up.

    The eat my cheese video is toooo funny. 🙂 You never know what things are going to be hilarious!!

Leave a Reply

