birthday eve

listening to my dad tell me about the clam chowder he ate the night before my mom had me 29 years ago.

listening to elisha tell me emphatically that he does not want me pushing the shopping cart with him in it.  only grandpa.

listening to asher say “no” quite proficiently.  yesterday was his first time using the word.  good and scary at the same time.  

listening to our local classical station alternate between stressed-out/frenetic music and mellow/soothing music and hoping that for my birthday they will only play the latter.  

listening to the weather forecast and wishing that we could get just one measly day of clouds and rain.  who knew endless sunshine could be depressing?

4 thoughts on “birthday eve

Leave a Reply

