she crafts

craft2

and she’s ok with that.

when in the course of 12 months you’ve taken up crocheting, knitting, sewing, and printing (sounds sexier than “stenciling”), you have to come on out and admit it.

hi, i’m kate and i craft.

i think it truly hit me when i was in joann’s yesterday, saw that they carried lena corwin’s book Printing by Hand: A Modern Guide to Printing with Handmade Stamps, Stencils, and Silk Screens, realized this book was a steal if only i had one of those 40% off coupons, saw the woman leaving the store still had an extra coupon, chased her down and asked her for it.   

have you seen lena corwin’s work?  beautiful.  it was only until the past couple of years that i realized the main reason i had little interest in sewing, knitting, etc. was that i didn’t see much i would use, want, like.  and then i stumble across people like anna maria horner, amy butler, and lotta jansdotter.  and those are just a few.

after seeing this post a few months ago and realizing i had a few friends who were about to have babies, i thought, “bingo – perfect baby gift.  knitted shoes and stenciled onesies.”  and thus the tradition started.

craft1

the top photo is a kitchen towel project i’m finishing up to give as a gift.  i also have lotta jansdotter’s lotta prints, but i have to say, corwin’s book is a bit more up my alley.  there are more templates provided, more descriptions, and more varied ideas.  but i don’t mind that i have both…

next up – screen printing. 

9 thoughts on “she crafts

  1. Really beautiful towel printing. So minimalist and lovely. I am proud of you for admitting the craft thing…I did something similar a few years ago when I was in a scrapbooking thing. It’s gone now, but it looks as if your craft thing has some sticking power! 🙂 Oh, and congrats for crossing two more things off your to-do list!

  2. I wanna be a crafter, too. It’s just a matter of time.

    I love your onesies and knitted shoes! And the towel is amazing. Off to add Lena Corwin’s book to my wish list – you’re always a great source of inspiring info.. 🙂

  3. what do you carve your stencils from in lena’s book? rubber? last year I made a bunch of potato stencils to use on fabric, which was fun, but I felt a little wasteful. I’d love to learn to carve some from rubber.

    beautiful work!

  4. i am glad that i know you and and can keep up with your blog. it is encouraging to learn how to be creative at home and i find you to be a great encouragement to me in finding my place in the world of diapers and food. thanks for sharing…. also, glad you found “made in brooklyn.” you are both so cool!!!

  5. alina – minimalist, that’s a compliment for me, indeed! perhaps that is what i didn’t see a lot of in crafting world (granted i had limited exposure to it) – minimalism.

    jenni – go raid your library. that is where i started. i think i checked out 10 books on basic knitting and then used the one or two that made the most sense to me. i do love, though, that you had a friend come teach you to embroider. that’s the best way. get your craft on, friend.

    nicole – i photocopied the template, placed the paper on top of freezer paper and then used an x-acto knife to cut out the design. quite easy. i agree with you about rubber. next up i’d like to carve some of my own stamps.

    kathy – thank you for such kind words. your comment is really an encouragement to me! i hope we can get up to new york to visit you guys, soon. and thanks for the intro to robyn. she is definitely cool 😉

  6. Kate, I love this. In the last few months, I have been exploring much more of my crafty side as well. I made the baby quilt from Lena’s book, though I didn’t print on it. I figure, one step at a time.

    Keep up the lovely work! 🙂

  7. Hey Kate, I know this is an old post but I had it starred to get back to one of these days. Now this day just happens to be right befor you move so you may not have time to answer. What kind of ink did you use to print on the onesies? I have a million stamps and have tried printing on fabric with things like Staz-on, dye ink, etc. It turned out well, but I’d like more color options. Also, funny the post about the pillow company. I just started an Etsy shop to sell pillows… you’d be great at that, too! My new town has an incredible local fabric shop…I’d be down there every day if the budget allowed!

Leave a Reply

