eggcups

eggcup

i thought i was doing fairly well handling the whole “we won’t have a job soon” situation.  but isn’t it strange how there can be a bit of mind/body disconnect in such stressful situations?  i thought i was doing great and i think i even patted myself on the back a few times and probably said to myself, “look how trusting i am!”  and then a few stress-related sickness issues pop up that don’t exactly help keep up a positive atmosphere.

perhaps i’ve not been so trusting.  i think i’ve been becoming adept at the art of ignoring or denying.  or i could just step back from everything and realize that i’ve been doing all of the above:  trusting, ignoring, denying.   

mornings are the hardest right now.  on one hand i’m usually rested, the boys are happy, coffee is available, and i can eat eggs out of cute egg cups.  on the other hand, it’s a whole other day of not knowing sitting before me. 

i’ve been reading through the psalms at the moment and know that trusting in the lord is a rather important theme.  but on some days i’m just not sure what that even means.  difficult times are such a two-sided thing, aren’t they?  you know God will honor your desire to be faithful and patient and trusting. you trust that there is maturing going on.  but it’s also just plain hard.

8 thoughts on “eggcups

  1. Amen, sister. I once found a quote that said, “Be brave. Even if you’re not, no one will know the difference.” And that’s true, but God knows our inmost thoughts, and that’s tough when you don’t feel trusting and faithful. Things will work out. I’ll pray for you.

  2. Your words are so true. I just posted today about the process of learning to find peace in the midst of stress. I think your egg cups are just the right thing to perk up the morning.

  3. Difficult times are two-sided for sure. I understand what it is to doubt, ignore and deny-especially when you don’t know what is around the bend. But it has been through the most difficult times that HE has proved faithful, beyond what I could have comprehended.

    I only met you once (one morning when Brad was preaching at Old Cutler), but I feel like I know you a little bit as a result of your blog…funny how blogs do that! Anyway, our family will be praying for you and Omar and the transitions ahead…

  4. Girl, I’ve been there. Uncertainty is one of the hardest things to deal with. I can only imagine how tempting it might be to sit there and fret about what the future holds, but we are blessed to know that even though we don’t know, there is Someone who does. And He’s got a great plan that will all work out in the end.

    I think a little denial can be a good thing. It helps keep us from getting all worked out. There’s nothing you can do about it all anyways, right? At the very least, you know where you are going in the interim and that you will be surrounded by family and friends. That’s something to be grateful for.

    I love the egg cups!! Too adorable!

  5. Taking every thought captive for Christ sure is difficult, but I think Phil. 4:6-7 is very helpful when we start to get uptight. Otherwise, taking pleasure in each little blessing – like egg cups! – is the right way to deal with real life, even in he midst of transition. His mercies are new every morning, aren’t they?

    I look forward to hearing about the next part of your adventure. 🙂

  6. I can very much relate to that feeling of anxiety that likes to creep into our hearts. Been feeling some of that lately over here across the ocean as well. Remembering to “be anxious for nothing” has been my mantra. I’m excited that this next phase of our unique adventures will bring us to the same general area. Very fun!

Leave a Reply

