i’m out

about nine months ago a certain wonderful husband looked at me and said, “you know, when you’re done nursing asher, you should go away for a few days.”

guess what?  i’m done nursing asher.  

being pregnant or nursing since july ’05 has been exhilarating and exhausting. i’m thankful for the break.

so my bag is packed with magazines i haven’t let myself read, yet.  the economist will be bought at the airport – it’s a tradition.  some books, a knitting project, and my ipod are tucked in there, too.  there are no diapers or snack traps in that bag, and the computer will stay behind so my trip will be peaceful and less distracting.

i’m off to chattanooga to see dear friends, rest, read, and enjoy some cooler weather.  just my luck, the weather report said yesterday that chattanooga was experiencing “near record high heat.”  of course it is. but i’m trying to stay positive.

i’m excited about the whole thing – the friends, the town, even the flight.  but please delta airlines people, don’t put a baby next to me.  

4 thoughts on “i’m out

  1. Kudos to your husband. Great idea.

    Traveling sans kids might be an adjustment for you. I remember one of the first times I took a trip by myself. I happened to notice an airplane in the sky and (impulsively) tapped on my friend, pointed to the sky, and said, “look! there’s an airplane!”

    She looked at me kind of funny. 🙂
    Then I remembered that we adults don’t usually announce that to each other.

    Have a wonderful time!

  2. i’m just sorry that washington is too far away. it’s pretty cold here and sunny. but cold. will miss you, especially with melis here. 😦

    but, have a great time and we’ll have to arrange something SOON.

  3. Have fun!! I thought “ooohh…maybe I can go away when I am finished, too!!” you’ve inspired me. 🙂

    Are you seeing Holly? Please tell her I said hi!

Leave a Reply

