book stack

Gileadcover.jpg

book one:  gilead by marilynne robinson

this book has been on my “to read” list for some time.  i’m still only in the first part of the book but i am so intrigued.  it is not at all what i expected but it is wonderful.  i read robinson’s housekeeping last year and was quite moved by it. but for those of you who’ve read her books, aren’t they the type that are rather difficult to describe?  they seem too subtle and nuanced to describe without making them sound utterly boring, which they aren’t.  i tried telling a friend about housekeeping and got to a point where i just needed to hush-up and hand her the book.  so good.

The Vaccine Book

book two:  the vaccine book by robert w. sears

i appreciate much of what the sears family has to say about medicine and kids. this book always comes out around elisha and asher’s check-up times.  vaccines can be such a hot topic and much of what i read before this book seemed either angry or dismissive.  this book gives a chapter to each vaccine.  it tells us how each vaccine is made, what it is made of, why we have it, and pros and cons about each vaccine.  it’s been such a help.  and it is not written in a judgmental or fear-inducing style.  when my pediatrician wanted to give asher five shots at once at his three month appointment, i was uncomfortable but didn’t know exactly how to intelligently explain my fears. this book has helped, and it gives several vaccine schedules you can follow:  the traditional schedule, dr. sears’ amended schedule (i use this one.  it simply breaks up the shots, primarily taking into consideration the issue of aluminum in the shots.), and a very pared-down schedule.  

books 3 and 4:  i’ll spare you any more pictures and/or comments on tim keller’s reason for god or n.t. wright’s surprised by hope for the time being.  yes, they’re still on the stack.  no, i haven’t made much progress recently.  no, i don’t really have a good reason.  oh well.   

6 thoughts on “book stack

  1. I really liked how you summed up the vaccine debate with angry or dismissive. Honestly, the whole issue seemed to become an issue after my kids were well into the traditional way of getting them. I know there were hippies objecting to the vaccines, but I’d never seen anything rational by anyone one it, so, as you said, I dismissed it.

    I’m sorry about that. Thankful, of course, that in our case there were no issues that came about, but if I were having kids now, I’d do a delayed track probably.

    And…love Gilead. Good way of saything that too – hard to describe, but excellent book. Glad you are enjoying it!

  2. oh gilead. could be one of my favorite books, ever. it really is quite a healer.

    she wrote an essay that’s published in the latest “best american nonrequired reading 2007…” or whatever that series is called. her academic work is really quite mesmerizing and reminds me of her scholarship. man!

    she has said she wrote gilead, in part, to impress her friends.

  3. I’ve been looking for a good vaccine book, so I’ll have to check that out. I’ve read several books that seemed extreme and it’s hard to trust information that seems in no way balanced. I’ve delayed shots until further research is completed, but we need to figure it all out. Dr. Sears’ website has helped me realize we weren’t actually in an emergency situation on many occasions- I like his style (and experience).

  4. thanks for the tip on the vaccine book. I visited the dr. sears website (linked from your blog) to gather info before Owen’s first round of vaccines at 2 months. I will definitely buy the book

Leave a Reply

