these are the days

of waiting for Asa
of being absolutely convinced I will be pregnant forever
of everybody, except that girl you see above, dropping like flies from one sickness or another
of introducing that concept of movie marathons (Harry Potter 1-3) to kids because of the above
of me reading to kids (everything from The Apprentice to Little House on the Prairie to Dragons Love Tacos)
of kids reading to me (I am loving this)
of me reading to me (Desiring the Kingdom by James K.A. Smith, 11/22/63 by Stephen King, Parenting With Love and Logic by Cline and Fay, Walking With God Through Pain and Suffering by Tim Keller)
of not finishing any books because I started too many at once
of washing and folding little boy clothes
of working my way through recipes in Whole-Grain Mornings: New Breakfast Recipes to Span the Seasons (make this oatmeal! and then make these muffins!)
of fitting in dates with Omar before Asa comes
of Swedish pancakes with butter and lingonberry jam breakfast dates
of Chinese food lunch dates
of corn and crab beignet dinner dates
of kind and generous family and friends helping with kids and meals and my sanity

One thought on “these are the days

  1. You are so close!! Hang in there, and soon you will exchange your swelling body for that addictive new baby smell. :)

    Totally unrelated, a while back you posted that you were soaking oats for Sunday. I have to say that the concept of oatmeal on Sunday morning has changed my life! We used to try to make Sundays as special as possible with a nicer breakfast and it was killing me (and making Sunday lunch hospitality fairly tricky, too). So, gone are the special muffins and egg dishes, and the ease of oats starts the day out peacefully. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

